top of page

the Iota Mu Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated®

Chartered April 21, 1975 at Duke University

Chapter History

Chapter History

In 1974, African American students had only been enrolled at Duke University as undergraduates for 11 years, and the campus had only one organization that catered to African American women. One student, Maureen D. Cullins, saw the need in both the Duke and Durham communities for service and leadership. She became inspired by Alpha Kappa Alpha women that she knew and began to make preparations to bring a chapter of the Sorority to Duke University. That same year, Cullins and several other Duke women formed an Alpha Kappa Alpha interest group called "Those Interested in Alpha Kappa Alpha" (TIAKA). Members of TIAKA planned programs and service projects to solidify their intentions of being true Alpha Kappa Alpha women.

On April 21, 1975, the dream became a reality as the Iota Mu Chapter was chartered at Duke University, becoming the 209th undergraduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. The twelve charter members were Maureen Cullins, Stephanie Ballentine, Angela Bowser, Donna Chatman, Germaine Fauntleroy, Gloria Green, Elaine Hawkins, Yollette Jones, Loretta King, Angelene Reid, Vanessa Roberts, and Wanda Settles.

Today, the Iota Mu Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated remains the premier organization for African American women on the campus of Duke University. Its members continue to exemplify the goals set forth by the visionaries who saw a chapter where none existed.

Quick Facts




Service to All Mankind


Duke University

Charter Date

April 21st, 1975

bottom of page